Cajun Mutt Press Featured Writer 05/03/24

Easy Pill

I ain’t right in the head, that’s an easy pill
for me to swallow, but it’s choking my kids.

I’m a piece of shit, lost my cool again
for the hundredth, no, the thousandth time.

Time, it keeps on ticking. Mine’s running out
as I scream and shout over nothing.

The dog pissed on the floor.

Fuck it! Is that worth this argument?
Is it worth this divide?

I feel myself slowly creeping towards the edge
I’m ready to jump, the free fall, the wind.

I wish my mind didn’t work like this.

I’m trying to get help, but what about them?
What about the damage I leave behind?

When I lose my cool, when I’m outta my mind.

The dog pissed on the floor again.

I stepped in it as soon as I walked through the door
already in overload. Work always pushes me right to the edge.

Speaking of the edge, I’m past ready to jump.
I shut my eyes, trying to decompress.

I’m ready to cry, still no tears come.
I’m fucking crazy, long past insane.

She was right to say that I may need a 72 hr hold
I’m no easy pill for anyone to swallow.

Now, I’m even choking myself.

“Easy Pill”

Death’s Bed

On death’s bed, true love still says

“You are the greatest thing that ever happened to me”

“I will always find every chance to be silly and share it with you”

“I want to spend the rest of my life with you”

“Please, please, please, please be my Valentine”

“I promise to make the rest of your life as fun and exciting and as happy as I can”

“Every day I spend with you is an adventure and every moment apart is time I spend thinking about you”

“I’ll always be with you”

This is what true love says, on death’s bed.

“Death’s Bed”

©2024 Michael E. Duckwall All rights reserved.

Brother Duck

Michael E. Duckwall was born and raised in the Ohio Valley. A featured poet at the 10th and final Gonzofest in Louisville Ky. His poem “Making Messes” was included in the anthology Encore released in January 2023, and his first book of poetry The Ramblings of a Recovering Poet was published by Pure Sleeze Press in July 2023. Cajun Mutt Press recently published his collection of poetry and artwork titled 7.2 SkullQuake in February 2024. This is how he describes his poems: “I don’t write, I release. I’m not sure if I could hold any of this in, even if I wanted to. Poetry.. my therapy, my friend, my release.”

Leave a comment