Cajun Mutt Press Featured Writer 05/08/24

Nature’s Symphony

It’s 3:33 am,
All I hear is whistling tree frogs
And the soothing hum
Of my oscillating fan.
I’m left wondering about the universe,
How it began,
Our use of language
And the origins of man.
My overactive mind grabs me,
Yanking me out of bed
I pace to the fridge,
I pour a glass of water
And the hobs clock
Paints it red.
I peer outside my window,
The moon shining bright,
The white orb wears a halo
And lights up the night.
I hear the leaves brush against the trees,
Orchestrating nature’s symphony.
Then I wonder…
Where does the wind start
And where does it end?
The truth lies in the stars
But we won’t know
Until the stars fall.

©2024 Rhys Campbell All rights reserved.

Brother Rhys

Rhys Campbell was born Bermudian and grew up in Cardiff, Wales – which moulded him into the person he is today. Self-taught, he started writing for himself at the tender age of 14.

Rhys often conveys his poetry within the verbalised art form that is spoken word; you can find his work on all major streaming platforms, usually complemented with ambient instrumentals to further ensure the impact of the narratives illustrated. In his free time he writes for a variety of bands and artists throughout an array of genres.

@rhysc.campbell

Leave a comment