Cajun Mutt Press Featured Writer 12/04/20

to brighten this darkened soul

i often dream
the most awful
things possible

kittens murdered

babies gunned
down in a church

nuns raping little
boys in class

enough hatred
to brighten this
darkened soul

i wake up after
all this fucking
feeling refreshed

the beauty of
being damaged


right off the tongue

they like to believe
i have it easy

i don’t have to work

that the poems just
slip right off the
tongue

they don’t understand

my grandmother’s
bathroom floor and
my older cousin
molesting me

my father’s hands
around my neck

the impact of a skull
crashing through a
windshield

how cold steel feels
on your lips any
given saturday
night

i’d offer my shoes

but they’ve already
done plenty of
walking


wants to remember

my dreams lately are
the old lovers having
their way with me

i think my inner child
is trying to rewrite my
history into something
it actually wants to
remember

and here i am drinking,
trying to forget it

quite the struggle

©2020 J.J. Campbell All rights reserved.

J.J. Campbell (1976 – ?) is stuck in the suburbs wondering where the lonely housewives are hiding. He’s been widely published over the last 25 years, most recently at Record Magazine, Red Eft Review, Synchronized Chaos, Horror Sleaze Trash, and The Beatnik Cowboy. You can find him most days on his mildly entertaining blog, evil delights.

Leave a comment