Cajun Mutt Press Featured Writer 12/10/21

Violated

I can picture this.
My cadaver laid out
all my finances listed.
Each time I withdrew myself,
the takeaway moments.
The white lies of nights
spent wishing I wasn’t alive.
The man in my dreams
who cost more
than the titanium nails
you used to crucify
my tarnished reputation.
I can feel your hate
your clawing anticipation
as your solicitors
rip chunks of flesh
in petty worded questions.
Ask me what I spent,
ask me what it was for.
I will take you there
bury you in the hole
in a desert hell
you dug with spade
made from my scapula.
Ask me about why
my blood looks thin
like the rivers running
in the island rainforests.

©2021 Linnet Phoenix All rights reserved.

Linnet Phoenix

Linnet Phoenix is a poet in North Somerset, England. Her work has previously been published in Red Fez, Fearless, Heroin Love Songs, New Verse News, Rye Whiskey Review, Gasconade Review, Rat’s Ass Review, ImpSpired Magazine, Poetica Review, and others. Her chapbook Rusty Stars & collection Urban Mustang have both been published in 2021. She has poems coming in both Cultural Weekly and Raw Art Review in December 2021. She also enjoys horse-riding in rainstorms.

Leave a comment