Cajun Mutt Press Featured Writer 11/06/23

Hospitality

I’m going to a new home,
where the servers are all robots,
and the food is made of dreams.

I’m not afraid,
because I know that anything is possible
in this all-inclusive resort.

I’ll see my loved ones daily:
the living ones will grudgingly stop by,
and the dead are sure to flirt with my daydreams.

Luxurious, adjustable bed,
cable TV, and a cabin companion
for cards, conversation, and laughter.

Gourmet meals,
unlimited snacks and drinks,
and the recreation area drenched in sunlight.

In our new palace, the rules don’t matter,
and the only thing that counts is an appreciation
for beautiful memories of warm, fuzzy moments gone by.

I’ll make myself happy there,
in the land of the living dead,
my Hospice.

©2023 Eric D. Goodman All rights reserved.

Brother Goodman

Eric D. Goodman is author of The Color of Jadeite (Loyola University’s Apprentice House Press, 2020), Setting the Family Free (Apprentice House Press, 2019), Womb: a novel in utero (Merge Publishing, 2017), Tracks: A Novel in Stories (Atticus, 2011), and Flightless Goose (Writer’s Lair, 2008), and Wrecks and Ruins (Loyola University’s Apprentice House Press, 2022).

Leave a comment